The National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Marathi

The National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Marathi is one of the prestigious awards presented annually by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation established by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in India. It is one of several awards given for outstanding feature films and is bestowed with the Rajat Kamal (Silver Lotus) award.

The National Film Awards, which were instituted in 1954, are the most esteemed film awards in India and recognize the finest achievements in Indian cinema. The ceremony also acknowledges films produced in various regional languages.

Awards for films in seven regional languages (Bengali, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Tamil, and Telugu) were introduced during the 2nd National Film Awards, which took place on 21 December 1955. Three awards were presented, including the "President's Silver Medal for Best Feature Film," "Certificate of Merit for the Second Best Feature Film," and "Certificate of Merit for the Third Best Feature Film." However, the latter two certificate awards were discontinued from the 15th National Film Awards held in 1967.

The first Marathi film to receive the President's Silver Medal for Best Feature Film was Mahatma Phule, directed by P.K. Atre in 1954. The film depicted the life of Jyotiba Govindrao Phule, a social reformer from Maharashtra. Here is a list of the Silver Lotus Award (Rajat Kamal) winners for Best Feature Film in Marathi.

  1. Mahatma Phule (1954)
  2. Shyamchi Aai (1955)
  3. Manini (1961)
  4. Sant Tukaram (1965)
  5. Pinjra (1972)
  6. Saamna (1975)
  7. Umbartha (1981)
  8. Chaukat Raja (1991)
  9. Doghi (1995)
  10. Shwaas (2004)
  11. Tingya (2008)
  12. Deool (2011)
  13. Killa (2014)
  14. Kaasav (2017)
  15. Bogda (2018)

No comments: